personal, writing-life

Running in Place

I’ve everything to be thankful for despite living in a country I no longer trust.

The roof over my head is stable, the food on my plate paid for with money earned not borrowed. My kids work and no longer rely on my financial support. My spouse loves me despite the appalling lack of intimacy in our marriage. Intimacy isn’t sex, and sex is the only time I spend with him that doesn’t involve watching television. I have a great house and take care of it because if I die here I’m leaving it the way I found it.

I’m a writer, too.

Leave a Reply

