Finishing March

Creatively, I’m behind schedule on my personal project, by three and a half weeks. The series should’ve be submitted by now, but I’m still working on edits to the ap content. Being sidelined by injury didn’t help. On the for-pay-writing front, I got a check for a writing job I did two months ago. I knew there was a sixty-days-later payout, but I took it anyway. The size of it allows me to put back 90% of the monies I used from my savings, to put a 5k downpayment on my son’s car.

On the vocational front, I got the perfect cash-counting gig! It’s at a local venue arena, they host sports, concerts, expos, etc. I’m the vault attendant for the parking service. What I love most about it is that I work maybe 6 times a month, tops–and the pay is nice. It gets me out of the house, and doesn’t cost me anything.

TV watching this month is Vikings (so glad its back), Walking Dead (of course!), and a copious amount of British procedurals on Netflix and Amazon Prime. My spouse and I are enjoying Foyle’s War, but I’ve gotten addicted to Inspector Lewis. Laurence Fox is like the bizarro Cumberbatch; it’s as if Mattel made “Barbie’s Friend Clive”, a Great Britain Ken-doll.  I’ve been DVRing The American’s, and keeping up with Grimm.

Began following an old internet acquaintance on FB, and had forgotten her combustible nature. Part of my past isolation involved her misconception about Google indexing. I got another light dose of this behavior recently, when a comment of mine was perceived as some erroneous insight into her sensibilities. Nothing came of it when I reacted in kind, and explained my intent, and I think she understood there was no fight to be had. I adore this person, we share much of the same view of the world, but will steer clear of commenting on anything she posts. If this insults her, then perhaps it’s best we didn’t connect again. :/ I walked enough minefields in Kuwait, I don’t need to figuratively engage any more of them in social-media. As you can see, I made an ant hill from this spec of sand, so it’s probably best if I refrain from typing anything on FB.

While on the topic of Facebook, I’ve been forced to eliminate the “trends” column (via Facebook Purity). Too much crap to distract me–I go there to catch up with friends and family, not get sidelined by current events, and people’s opinions on them.

Also, Mag’s art was in show mid-month, for the National Honor Society of Art. There’s so much talent out there, but was surprised by the absence, and separation of “creative writing”. When I was in high school, I was editor of our literary magazine (I changed many things about it that year), but Mag’s school has no such program. So disappointed.

Leave a Reply

