Uncategorized

You’re Wrong, Okay?

I’m going to take this moment to fume. I rarely do such things anymore because I’ve so little to get pissed about, but today was a corker.

FIRST OFF: This isn’t me.  I’m more offended that anyone would think I could live in Florida, let alone have a rap sheet that long! 0_o

NEXT: My teen’s taking college classes at their High School.  So professor teaching class makes it clear she deals only with students, not parents. I can appreciate this, it’s one less teacher I have to worry about.  ^_-

It does get cumbersome when you have to go through a third person, to tell said professor, that the edition of the book she wishes your student to have, is not at the College book store.  Now here’s where I get pissed.

angryface

I email counselor because kiddo says they’re supposed to have this book by Wednesday.  0_0  So I cancel the Amazon order, because it wont be here by Wednesday morning; I got to bookstore at 9am and all they have is the 11th edition.

Prof tells the counselor I called that 12th Edition is at the store–she was there this morning.  Bullshit. I was there at 9am, they had only 11th edition books–asked two of the people working there, where’s the 12th?

“We don’t have that edition…”

So I call the counselor after being told in the email that the prof pretty much says I BE LYING.

I’m going to assume that said professor saw the pile of 11th editions and thought they were the latest editions–they aren’t, but hey—what do I know, I’m just a meddling parent. If it comes down to me having to return this edition and get the 12th online from Amazon–which BTW, you can’t fucking rent because it’s too new…and I’m not lying about that, I will do it, because if there is a chance that there’s some disconnect between professor and my teen in regard to having it by Wednesday, then I’ll own that shit.  –yet so far, I’m not inclined to believe that, based on what I’ve experienced today. FWIW, if she said they could ‘rent it’ from Amazon on Monday, there’s no way they’re getting the books by Wednesday morning– unless that drone thing of Amazon’s started and I wasn’t paying attention.

So yes, I’m frustrated.

I’m not even the sort of parent that gives a crap about about this stuff–seriously, my teen’s pretty-together regarding shit like this, yet because they don’t drive yet and cannot afford their own books at this time, I’m sort of involved in the process.  I’m willing to give this professor the benefit of the doubt and assume she just saw the wrong edition and further assume she didn’t look at the Amazon page and didn’t see that it wasn’t rent-able (not an issue really) and I going to go one more and hope that Mag got the message wrong in that if you’re told about a book on Monday and advised to order it from Amazon that day–you won’t have it by class time on Wednesday morning, of the same week.

0_0

Lots of assumptions.  I feel so much better now that I’ve ranted.

-back to work, this manuscript won’t write itself!

PS – I know authors in Austin like to check on other writers from their area, if you’re reading this Professor, know that it’s not personal; now that I’ve blogged, I’m over it.  I’m a frustrated parent that lives no where near ACC Campus Bookstore (driving there twice was a pain in the ass), and as an alpha, I’m easily twisted when forced to engage a third-party in what should’ve been just a conversation, between two adults.

Leave a Reply

