personal

Female, Woman, or Freaky Alien Genotype?

It’s June.

So this month has been a little crazy. The boy graduated high school, my publisher is pissed off with my choice in artist, and my colon has decided it hates me. The only good thing about this month is that I’m making progress on the Femitokon books, despite being laid up in pain and on medication.  It’s my goal to have the series bible finished and in the publishers hand by the end of August, but we’ll see what happens between now and then.

I’ve been trying to remain true to my TV schedule, but there’s not a lot I can watch first run these days, because of the comics editing side-work I’m doing in order to pay for the editing work on Femitokon. Instead of first-run TV, which is limited when you’re laid-up, I’ve discovered Team Four Star. These boys are hilarious, I cannot wait to see the DBZ Cell Saga in their hands.

I’m in a weird place these days, because my series offers nothing much in the way of heterosexual or male-oriented sex. The Femmar are all female—and yeah, that’s how that works. I got involved in a Twitter discussion on the merits using the word ‘woman’ over ‘female’ in fiction. If you’re writing science-fiction, I think female works just fine—and some of the arguments I heard against its use (too clinical, we’re not animals) were acceptable—but I had a hard time with critics stating that ‘female’ was somehow a misogynistic term over the term ‘woman’.

I’ve never been a fan of the ‘woe to man’ origin of ‘woman’, I just can’t see it as more empowering.

I don’t like female when it’s used to describe people in professions where it shouldn’t matter.  I don’t believe in ‘female comedians’ or ‘female cops’ – a comedian is a comedian and a cop is a cop.  A job is a job, and pointing out a persons gender isn’t a requirement–also, I don’t consider male the default, so just tell me their profession and their name and I can figure it out.  I’ve also come to dislike the notion of ‘female-driven’ or ‘female-lead’ in terms of characterizing films, comics, games, or fiction.  Just give me the protagonists name, let me read or watch the work, and I can figure out if I like it from there–let me clarify: it’s okay when bloggers, journalists, and fans use these terms in order to discuss why they like it–but I intensely dislike press-releases and other promotion oriented media stating the obvious to me, as if their investment in the feminine audience should be pointed out or rewarded.  We’re half the population, just do your job and create material we like to read, but stop telling us we should be reading because you’ve decided to do it…for us.  0_0

It’s time to get off this Kindle– I got a book to write.

Leave a Reply

