I’m Not a Foodie: BBQ Skewers

So I don’t cook at my house– that’s my spouses job, but when I do cook, it’s usually good-times.  This weekends project was what the Crock-Pot index card, called ‘Asian Barbecue Skewers’.  0_0  I realize that when no specific Asian culture can cop to owning the recipe, it’s called “Asian”.

DSCN0242
Start with skinless/boneless Chicken Thighs (card calls for 2 pounds, I used 1).

DSCN0243

Cut them into strips (about 4 pieces per thigh – I went smaller)

DSCN0244

Thread those badboys! (a gross job if you’re squeamish). You will need 7 inch skewers.

DSCN0247

This is where the actual Crock-Pot comes in! I have a monster Pot-
lay them as flat as you can. You don’t have to use a liner–I do.

DSCN0245

Prepare the sauce…stir it up until blended.

  • 1/2 cup soy sauce
  • 1/3 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2 Tablespoons of sesame oil
  • 3 gloves of garlic, minced (comes in a tube!)
  • 1/2 cup sliced green onions (optional…and ew.)
  • 1 Tablespoon of toasted sesame seeds
  • Reserve 1/3 cup of sauce and set aside

DSCN0249

Pour over skewers

DSCN0250

Cook in Pot on LOW for 2 hours / Turn them Over then cook on LOW for 1 hour.
(My pots seen better days, don’t judge the pot!)

DSCN0251

Cooked skewers are on a paper plate, because you have to cover them
with the rest of the sauce.  Cover with Seeds (and Onions, ew) before serving.

Leave a Reply

