personal

Smelly Things

Since the birth of my daughter over 13 years ago, my olfactory skills have grown stronger with each passing year. In the last three years, it’s got so bad that certain body odors (not necessarily bad ones), hair smells, and the smell of breath—is overpowering. Two years before, I realized I couldn’t take the smell of my spouse—his hair, skin, breath. At first I chalked it up to being together over 15 years and just starting to hate him—but no, I love the man, that hasn’t changed. He’s used Irish Spring Soap as long as I’ve known him, and I bought him new soap (Dove for Men) and the body odor issue disappeared. You see where I’m going with this…

Today, my sense of smell is in overdrive.

I’ve never liked the smell of dandruff shampoo, period. I’ve always been able to tolerate it, but today I woke up and smelled it on my spouse. The I washed my daughter’s hair this morning (yes, I was Maggie’s hair daily, because I don’t get to see her for more than three hours a day between my job and her school—and washing her hair in the morning, is how I connect) and when I got in the car, I was sickened by the smell of hair cleaned with dandruff shampoo. I hate this smell, but I simply can’t replace my spouse and daughter’s dandruff shampoo. I know my nose is in overdrive; every customer that comes in, their breath is killing me.

I had to eat lunch out, because one of my co-workers ate salmon for lunch. I like salmon, but the smell today is just… too much.

I wonder if doctors know of anything that will help with an oversensitive nose.

2 thoughts on “Smelly Things”

  1. Some people have what’s called MCS = Multiple Chemical Sensitivity. I think there are docs or special clinics that deal with this (probably not many). I have problems with some odors making me sick, like most colognes, some deodorants, hair gel, hair spray, chemicals, strong vinyl smell, etc.
    You may just have to make a list of stuff that makes you sick and avoid them, or switch to another brand, for example dryer sheets – get unscented ones. Maybe try some natural remedies for dandruff.
    If you go out to eat with your co-workers then tell them before you go – “Hey guys, no salmon (or whatever stinks to you) please or I might throw up.”
    For customers at counter i would definitely put out a big bowl of strong mints with a sign that says FREE MINTS, or distance yourself with a clip board or papers in your hand. If you can think of something to say to them like “oh, i had garlic at lunch” , and then step back from them it would be believeable and polite.
    I would be sure and let your family and close friends know about this so they can accomodate you.
    Anybody else, just tell them whatever works for you, even if it’s not neccesarily true.
    Example: You”re in a movie theater, or grocery store line and someone smells bad. Fan yourself and tell the person that you have to move because you’re pregnant and smells really bother you.
    I know lying to people is not a good thing but most people will NOT understand unless they have had the problem themself, but they do understand an explanation that they can relate to.
    Whatever helps you, do it. And you can probably research MCS on the internet to learn more or find other people who have dealt with the problem.

    Hope this helps!
    A fellow sufferer.

  2. Hi, thanks for responding. 🙂 I wish I could do that clipboard thing, but I work at a bank and OMG, that would send our sales-coaches in a fit. LOL! I’ve been trying to keep something close by me though, when it gets to be too much–but the biggest hurdle is the breath. =_=;

Leave a Reply

