Nerdgasm: Clash of the Titans on Blu-Ray

Ok, this post is about 1981’s Clash of the Titans – not the new one that’s coming out…of which I must say:

“‘Dear Hollywood, if you wanted to make a film about G*d of War, you should’ve just licensed it and made one…

Ok, that’s out of my system.

I saw the Blu-Ray edition of 1981’s Clash of the Titans [Sorry Harry Hamlin but–OMG, Tim Pigott-Smith with Jew-Fro!!]

This edition comes in a case that doubles as a picture book [I know, it’s so 80’s!]

I’m of those people that dug this movie, despite how much it strays from the actual heroic myth of Perseus.   When I was 10, this movie ruled.   When I was 20, this movie still ruled – despite irking my feminist sensibilities [shows like Dallas and Dynasty were all the rage then, and so making otherwise powerful and revered g*ddesses into bitchy angry hairspray wearing divas – was unavoidable.]

Anything from Ray Harryhausen‘s studio rocked, I don’t care what today’s CGI spoiled critics say.  I liked the Kraken! [though my son thinks its hilarious to say ‘Let Loose the Kracken’ and then bare his ass…teens are brain damaged, especially mine].

The original Medusa scared me shitless.  I remember when this movie came out, there was coloring book that was sold in stores – and I had one and colored the Medusa picture…I was stoked!  Anyway, the Blu-Ray experience doesn’t truly come through on this one because it’s an old film – and it’s not quite up to ‘Blu-Ray’ quality, but the packaging alone makes up for it!  The book that comes with it is great, and you also get a free ticket to the remake of ‘Clash of the Titans’ aka G*d of War – but the ticket’s not good for opening weekend – it’s valid the weekend after [stay ASSY Hollywood].

If you liked the old film, and have a Blu-Ray player – buy this!

5 Comments

  1. I remember watching this film ages ago. Every time I see it, I feel nostalgic even though the graphics are primitive by today’s standards. Honestly, I don’t care. This flick was one of several films that bring fond memories.

    I’m not surprised that Hollywood re-make this flick because they also re-made A Nightmare on Elm Street without Robert Englund as Freddie, Halloween, Friday the 13th, and list goes on. I’ll scream bloody murder if Hellraiser (the first one because I wasn’t too crazy about the sequels) is going be re-made.

  2. By the way, are you going to see the new Clash of the Titans flick?

  3. Omg! Days of Dallas. I’d almost managed to erase the memories. Always loved Greek/Roman mythos. Did you try the Percy Jackson movie? Will have to revisit this Clash before the next. Enjoyed your post.

Leave a Reply

